Mukaiyama Award was launched in 2005 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ), to celebrate the 77th birthday of Professor Teruaki Mukaiyama who received the Order of Culture in 1997 from Japanese government for his outstanding contributions to synthetic organic chemistry and to commemorate his election in 2004 to the National Academy of Science, USA, as a foreign associate.

The purpose of the award is to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to synthetic organic chemistry.

The award, which consists of $5,000, a medallion, and a certificate, is bestowed every year upon an individual of 45 years old or younger, who has made outstanding contrbutions to synthetic organic chemistry. The awardee, selected by the award committee, shall deliver an award lecture at the Summer Seminar of SSOCJ where the award will be presented.

The Winners for the award year 2010 are Professor Michael J. Krische and Professor Masahiro Terada


Professor Michael J. Krische , Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Contributions; the first hydrogen-mediated C-C bond formations beyond alkene hydroformylation. These processes define a departure from stoichiometric organometallic reagents in carbonyl addition and, under transfer hydrogenation conditions, enable carbonyl addition directly from the alcohol oxidation level.


Professor Masahiro Terada Department of Chemistry, Graduate School of Science, Tohoku University, Japan

Contributions; the development of novel axially chiral Bronsted acids and bases as efficient enantioselective catalysts for a variety of carbon-carbon bond and carbon-heteroatom bond forming reactions.


The members of the Mukaiyama Award Committee for the award year 2010 are as follows:

                      Tamio Hayashi*      Akio Baba        Nobuharu Iwasawa
                      Keiji Maruoka        Norio Miyaura      Hisao Urata
                      Masahiko Yamaguchi                     *Chairman


Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2011. The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at

The pertinent documents are retained on file for three award

  years. The nominations deadline for the award year 2011 is August 1, 2010.
While submission of the nomination form by e-mail to is preferred, submission by regular mail is also accepted.
  Nomination Form      


                              1-5 Kanda-Surugadai,
                              Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan
                              Tel: +81-3-3292-7621
                              Fax: +81-3-3292-7622
                              E-mail address:



GoHomeReturn to Mukaiyama Award Page