Announcement from The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize sponsored by Takasago International Corporation

and administered by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize, sponsored by Takasago International Corporation, was established in 2002 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) in commemoration of Professor Ryoji Noyori's winning of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as well as the 60th anniversary of SSOCJ.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize outstanding contributions to research in asymmetric synthetic chemistry defined in its broadest sense.

The Prize, which consists of a certificate, a medallion, and \$10,000, is bestowed every year to a recipient meeting the above mentioned criteria. The International Prize Committee selects a recipient, and the recipient shall deliver a prize lecture at the annual general meeting of SSOCJ at which the Prize will be presented.

The Winner of the Prize for the award year 2020 is Tsuneo Imamoto, Professor Emeritus, Chiba University & Visiting Professor, Hokkaido University, Japan.

Professor Imamoto is a pioneer in the use of phosphine–boranes for the synthesis of chiral phosphine ligands. He designed and synthesized many new P-chiral phosphine ligands and demonstrated their superior performance in asymmetric catalysis. The air-stable P-chiral phosphine ligand QuinoxP* is widely used in both

academia and industry. He also made significant contributions to the mechanistic studies of rhodium-catalyzed asymmetric hydrogenation in collaboration with Professor Ilya D. Gridnev. Another outstanding achievement is the development of cerium(III)modified organometallic reagents, which have found widespread use in the efficient



addition reactions of carbonyl compounds.

The past recipients:

| Henri B. Kagan | (2002) | Gilbert Stork | (2003) |
|--|----------|--------------------|---------|
| Dieter Seebach | (2004) | Tsutomu Katsuki | (2005) |
| David A. Evans | s (2006) | Tamio Hayashi | (2007) |
| Andreas Pfaltz | (2008) | Yoshio Okamoto | (2009) |
| Eric N. Jacobsei | n (2010) | Hisashi Yamamoto | (2011) |
| Masakatsu Shibasaki (2012) Barry M. Trost (2013) | | | (2013) |
| Dieter Enders | (2014) | Larry E. Overman | |
| Keiji Maruoka | (2016) | David W. MacMillar | n(2017) |
| Yoshito Kishi | (2018) | Scott E. Denmark | (2019) |

The members of the International Prize Committee for the award year 2020:

Takahiko Akiyama (Chairman) Scott E. Denmark Benjami Takeshi Ohkuma Tomisla Mikiko Sodeoka Michino Toshiaki Sunazuka

Benjamin List Tomislav Rovis Michinori Suginome

Call for Nominations for the Award Year 2021 (Deadline May 1, 2021)

Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2021 by May 1, 2021.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at *https://www.ssocj.jp/en/* The documents submitted are retained on file for three award years.



1-5 Kanda-Surugadai, Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan Tel: +81-3-3292-7621 Fax: +81-3-3292-7622 Website: https://www.ssocj.jp/ Preferred method of submittal is by e-mail attachment of the form.

e-mail address: support@ssocj.or.jp

However, submittal by express or conventional mail is also acceptable.



TAKASAGO INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION

Nissay Aroma Square 17F 5-37-1 Kamata, Ota-Ku, Tokyo, 144-8721 Japan Tel:+81-3-5744-0511 Fax: +81-3-5744-0512 Website: https://www.takasago.com