Ryoji Noyori Prize sponsored by Takasago International Corporation

and administered by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize, sponsored by Takasago International Corporation, was established in 2002 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) in commemoration of Professor Ryoji Noyori's winning of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as well as the 60th anniversary of SSOCJ.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize outstanding contributions to research in asymmetric synthetic chemistry defined in its broadest sense.

The Prize, which consists of a certificate, a medallion, and \$10,000, is bestowed every year to a recipient meeting the above mentioned criteria. The International Prize Committee selects a recipient, and the recipient shall deliver a prize lecture at the annual general meeting of SSOCJ at which the Prize will be presented.

The Winner of the Prize for the award year 2022 is Gregory C. Fu, Norman Chandler Professor of Chemistry, Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, USA.

Professor Fu has made important contributions to the development of new synthetic methods based on his original design of catalysts and reactions. Fu designed planar-chiral nucleophilic catalysts by fusing DMAP to ferrocene for a variety of asymmetric reactions as represented by acylative kinetic resolution. This achievement, where nitrogen atoms in designed catalysts function as a "working element" in asymmetric catalysis, served as an early contribution to the field of "asymmetric organocatalysis". Fu's research interests also include transition-metal catalysis. He established a way to utilize unreactive chloroarenes in Pd-catalyzed sp²-sp² cross-couplings using tri-t-butylphosphine as a ligand. Fu then turned his attention to asymmetric sp³-sp³ carbon-carbon

bond-forming cross-couplings using chiral nickel catalysts. His work on enantioconvergent reactions of racemic electrophiles is particularly notable. Fu also succeeded in asymmetric sp³ carbon–heteroatom bond-forming cross-couplings using chiral copper catalysts under irradiation of light. Unlike conventional transition metal/photosensitizer binary catalyst systems, his system needs only a single catalyst.



Fu's achievements are admired not only for their superb profiles and the uniqueness of the individual reactions, but also for their role in pioneering new research fields and applications in organic synthesis.

The past recipients:

Dieter Enders Keiji Maruoka	(2014) (2016)	Gilbert Stork Tsutomu Katsuki Tamio Hayashi Yoshio Okamoto Hisashi Yamamoto Barry M. Trost Larry E. Overman David W. MacMillan Scott F. Denmark	(2003) (2005) (2007) (2009) (2011) (2013) (2015) (2017) (2019)
Yoshito Kishi	(2018)	Scott E. Denmark	(2019)
Tsuneo Imamoto	(2020)	Erick M. Carreira	(2021)

The members of the International Prize Committee for the award year 2022:

Takeshi Sugai (Chairman) David W. MacMillan Takeshi Ohkuma Michinori Suginome

Scott E. Denmark Seijiro Matsubara Tomislav Rovis Ken Tanaka

Call for Nominations for the Award Year 2023

(Deadline: May 1, 2023)

Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2023 by May 1, 2023.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at https://www.ssocj.jp/en/. The documents are retained on file for three award award years.

Preferred method of submittal is by e-mail attachment of the form.

e-mail address: support@ssocj.or.jp

However, submittal by express or conventional mail is also acceptable.





TAKASAGO INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION

Nissay Aroma Square 17F 5-37-1 Kamata, Ota-Ku, Tokyo, 144-8721 Japan TEL.+81-3-5744-0511 FAX. +81-3-5744-0512 www.takasago.com

1-5 Kanda-Surugadai, Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan TEL. +81-3-3292-7621 FAX. +81-3-3292-7622 www.ssocj.jp/