Announcement from The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize sponsored by Takasago International Corporation

and administered by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize, sponsored by Takasago International Corporation, was established in 2002 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) in commemoration of Professor Ryoji Noyori's winning of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as well as the 60th anniversary of SSOCJ.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize outstanding contributions to research in asymmetric synthetic chemistry defined in its broadest sense.

The Prize, which consists of a certificate, a medallion, and \$10,000, is bestowed every year to a recipient meeting the above mentioned criteria. The International Prize Committee selects a recipient, and the recipient shall deliver a prize lecture at the annual general meeting of SSOCJ at which the Prize will be presented.

The Winner of the Prize for the award year 2023 is Kenso Soai, Professor Emeritus, Tokyo University of Science, Japan.

Professor Soci made a groundbreaking discovery in the realm of chirality by identifying the first instance of asymmetric autocatalysis involving 5-pyrimidyl alkanol in the enantioselective addition of disopropylzinc to pyrimidine-5-carbaldehyde, called as the Soai reaction. Asymmetric autocatalysis is a reaction in which a chiral product serves as a catalyst for its own production. The Soai reaction exhibits the remarkable canability to significantly enhance the remarkable capability to significantly enhance the enantiomeric excess of the initial asymmetric autocatalyst, transforming it into a near-enantiopure compound during the consecutive asymmetric autocatalysis. Furthermore, his research delved into the origins of chirality, using various chiral triggers within the Soai reaction to relate to the chirality of highly enantioenriched organic compounds. The Soai reaction was found to be triggered by diverse factors, including chiral minerals, circularly polarized light, chiral crystals composed of achiral compounds like γ -glycine and isotope chirality. Most astonishingly, the Soai reaction demonstrated the ability to achieve spontaneous absolute asymmetric synthesis without any external chiral factors. Thus, Professor Soai has made invaluable contributions to the study of chirality. highly enantioenriched organic



invaluable contributions to the study of chirality.

The past recipients:

Henri B. Kagan	(2002)	Gilbert Stork	(2003)
Dieter Seebach	(2004)	Tsutomu Katsuki	(2005)
David A. Evans	(2006)	Tamio Havashi	(2007)
Andreas Pfaltz	(2008)	Yoshio Okamoto	(2009)
Eric N. Jacobsen	(2010)	Hisashi Yamamoto	(2011)
Masakatsu Shibasaki	(2012)	Barry M. Trost	(2013)
Dieter Enders	(2014)	Larry E. Overman	(2015)
Keiji Maruoka	(2016)	David W. MacMillan	(2017)
Yoshito Kishi	(2018)	Scott E. Denmark	(2019)
Tsuneo Imamoto	(2020)	Erick M. Carreira	(2021)
Gregory C. Fu	(2022)		. ,

The members of the International Prize Committee for the award year 2023:

Takeshi Sugai (Chairman)	
Gregory C. Fu	
Seijiro Matsubara	
Takashi Ooi	

attachment of the form.

mail is also acceptable.

Erick M. Carreira David W. MacMillan Kyoko Nozaki Ken Tanaka

Call for Nominations for the Award Year 2024 (Deadline: May 1, 2024) Preferred method of submittal is by e-mail

Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2024 by May 1, 2024.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at *https://www.ssocj.jp/en/* The documents are retained on file for three award years.



1-5 Kanda-Surugadai, Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan TEL. +81-3-3292-7621 FAX. +81-3-3292-7622 www.ssocj.jp



e-mail address: support@ssocj.or.jp

However, submittal by express or conventional

TAKASAGO INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION

Nissay Aroma Square 17F 5-37-1 Kamata, Ota-Ku, Tokyo, 144-8721 Japan TEL.+81-3-5744-0511 FAX. +81-3-5744-0512 www.takasago.com