Announcement from The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize sponsored by Takasago International Corporation

and administered by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

Ryoji Noyori Prize, sponsored by Takasago International Corporation, was established in 2002 by The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ) in commemoration of Professor Ryoji Noyori's winning of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Chemistry as well as the 60th anniversary of SSOCJ.

The purpose of the Prize is to recognize outstanding contributions to research in asymmetric synthetic chemistry defined in its broadest sense.

The Prize, which consists of a certificate, a medallion, and \$10,000, is bestowed every year to a recipient meeting the above mentioned criteria. The International Prize Committee selects a recipient, and the recipient shall deliver a prize lecture at the annual general meeting of SSOCJ at which the Prize will be presented.

The Winner of the Prize for the award year 2024 is Thorsten Bach, Professor of Organic Chemistry, School of Natural Sciences and Catalysis Research Center, Technische Universität München.

Professor Bach is the pioneer of enantioselective photochemistry and one of the leading experts in the field. He and his group showed successfully that chirality can be introduced by photochemical transformations, both in a stoichiometric and a catalytic sense. By using hydrogen bonding interactions, a temporary chiral confinement was created in which photochemical reactions proceeded with high enantioselectivity. Bach established the use of chiral Lewis acids for catalytic photochemical reactions, and he successfully devised chiral sensitizers as catalysts for visible light- induced

asymmetric photochemistry. In recent years, he demonstrated that photochemistry can be employed to convert racemic mixtures into single enantiomers (photochemical deracemization) employing either a selective triplet energy transfer or a reversible hydrogen atom transfer as vehicle to facilitate the counter-thermodynamic process. His creative ideas and his ground-breaking research accomplishments have taken photochemistry to the next level of complexity



complexity.

The past recipients:

(2002)	Gilbert Stork	(2003
(2004)	Tsutomu Katsuki	(2005
(2006)	Tamio Havashi	(2007
(2008)	Yoshio Okamoto	(2009
(2010)	Hisashi Yamamoto	(2011
(2012)	Barry M. Trost	(2013
(2014)	Larry E. Overman	(2015
(2016)	David W. MacMillan	(2017
(2018)	Scott E. Denmark	(2019
(2020)	Erick M. Carreira	(2021
(2022)	Kenso Soai	(2023
	(2002) (2004) (2006) (2008) (2010) (2012) (2014) (2016) (2018) (2020) (2022)	 (2002) Gilbert Stork (2004) Tsutomu Katsuki (2006) Tamio Hayashi (2008) Yoshio Okamoto (2010) Hisashi Yamamoto (2012) Barry M. Trost (2014) Larry E. Overman (2016) David W. MacMillan (2018) Scott E. Denmark (2020) Erick M. Carreira (2022) Kenso Soai

The members of the International Prize Committee for the award year 2024:

attachment of the form.

Mikiko Sodeoka (Chairperson)	Erick M. Carreira
Gregory C. Fu	Benjamin List
Kyoko Nozaki	Takashi Ooi
Takeshi Sugai	Ken Tanaka

Call for Nominations for the Award Year 2025 (Deadline: May 1, 2025) Preferred method of submittal is by e-mail

Any individual may nominate one individual for the award year 2025 by May 1, 2025.

The nomination form can be downloaded from the SSOCJ web site at *https://www.ssocj.jp/en/* The documents are retained on file for three award years.



1-5 Kanda-Surugadai, Chiyoda-Ku, Tokyo, 101-0062 Japan TEL. +81-3-3292-7621 FAX. +81-3-3292-7622 www.ssocj.jp

mail is also acceptable.

e-mail address: support@ssocj.or.jp

However, submittal by express or conventional



TAKASAGO INTERNATIONAL CORPORATION

Nissay Aroma Square 17F 5-37-1 Kamata, Ota-Ku, Tokyo, 144-8721 Japan TEL.+81-3-5744-0511 FAX. +81-3-5744-0512 www.takasago.com