The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ)

Who is SSOCJ?

The Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan (SSOCJ), was initially founded in 1942 by about four hundred members from military, government and the private sector with the aim to promote industrial applications of synthetic organic chemistry. The society was configured into its current form, and it has been a major contributor to the successful advancement of organic chemistry in Japan ever since.

In 2017 the SSOCJ celebrated its 75th anniversary. In those 75 years the SSOCJ has grown to become an interdisciplinary academic organization of approximately 3,971 members that include many talented experts from industry, and encompasses a variety of disciplines including engineering, science, pharmacy, agriculture, biochemistry and medicinal chemistry.

The SSOCJ remains committed to solving many challenging problems confronting people worldwide, by advancing innovative technologies in artificial intelligence, biological chemistry, environment and energy.


Takahiko Akiyama(Gakushuin University)
Vice Presidents
Seijiro Matsubara (Kyoto University)
Masaru Mitsuda(Kaneka Corporation)
Hiroyuki Miyata(Ube Industries, Ltd.)
Kazumasa Aoki(Daiichi Ssankyo company, Ltd.)
Shigeru Ieda( Astellas Pharma Inc.)
Yasushi Imada(Tokushima University)
Yoshiharu Iwabuchi(Tohoku University)
Kazuhiko Ohrai(Nissan Chemical Industries,Ltd.)
Takashi Oi(Nagoya University)
Mitsuru Ohno(Daicel Corporation)
Sensuke Ogoshi(Osaka University)
Takeshi Sugai(Keio University)
Kimiko Sodeoka (RIKEN, Japan)
Yoshiji Takemoto(Kyoto University)
Keiji Tanino (Hokkaido University)
Hidetoshi Tokuyama(Tohoku University)
Katsuhiko Tomooka(Kyushu University)
Kazuo Nagasawa(Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)
Shinji Nagumo(Kogakuin university)
Takeshi Furuchi(Meiji Seika Pharma Co., Ltd.)
Hideki Matsuda(Kuraray co, Ltd.)
Satoshi Minakata(Osaka University)
Atsunori Mori (Kobe University))
Katsuya Tagami(Eisai Co.,Ltd.)
Toshiaki Sunazuka(Kitasato University)
Kazuya Takenouchi(Teijin Pharma Ltd.)
Ichiro Nagai(SSOCJ)